GSSI-recognized Seafood Certification Schemes

The seafood certification schemes below have been benchmarked against the Global Benchmark Tool Version 1 and are recognized by the GSSI Steering Board. A seafood certification scheme is recognized after successfully completing the 7-step Benchmark Process. The expert-led process involves objective assessments made against the Benchmark Framework. For more information see the Benchmark Tool Factsheet.


Seafood Certification Scheme
Date of recognition
Scope of recognition
Benchmark Report

Alaska Responsible Fisheries Management (RFM) Certification Program

AK Sfd RFM logo English 4C
> Scheme Profile

12 July 2016

Fisheries Certification

(Alaska Responsible Fisheries Management (RFM) Standard version 1.3, effective 1 January 2016)

 > GSSI Benchmark Report for the Alaska RFM Program

Iceland Responsible Fisheries Management (IRFM) Certification Programme

certifed logo cmyk 300dpi







> Scheme Profile 

8 November 2016

Fisheries Certification

(Fisheries Managememt Standard Version 2.0, effective 1 July 2016)

> GSSI Benchmark Report for the Iceland RFM Certification Programme

Marine Stewardship Council

RS1576 MSC corporate logo final

> Scheme Profile

14 March 2017

Fisheries Certification

(MSC Fisheries Certification Requirements and Guidance Version 2.0, effective 1 October, 2014)

> GSSI Benchmark Report for the Marine Stewardship Council


Best Aquaculture Practices Certification  


> Scheme Profile

4 October 2017

Aquaculture Certification

Salmon Farms (Issue 2, Revision 3, October 2016), and Finfish and Crustacean Farms (Issue 2.4, 23 May 2017)

> GSSI Benchmark Report for the Best Aquaculture Practices Certification